Skip to Navigation
[ Sign in ]
record distribution

30drop - The Time Of Cruel Miracles LP

Recording info

I did not know what achievements, what mockery, even what tortures awaited me. I knew nothing, and I persisted in the faith that the time of cruel miracles was not past .
Stanislaw Lem (Solaris, 1961).

This paragraph from Solaris, the novel written in 1961 by Stanislav Lem, is the starting point for the concept this 30drop album has been built upon. Science fiction masters like Lem are one of the greatest influences for the artist, who devised this album after the mental challenges that humans should overcome in a future: encounter with beings from other civilizations: capable of interacting with us in a totally unthinkable way so far.

Away from what many a sci-fi blockbuster depicts, this work revolves around the idea that such meeting with alien species will be eminently a mental experience that will shock not only our cultural values but also our very own perceptions about what space/time/reality is a mindbending experience where everything we knew before dissolves around us and propels us to uncharted grounds. Terra incognita so far.

Bypassing the random track collection syndrome that plagues many of today s so-called techno albums this LP was conceived and devised from it s very beginning as a full, complete work in itself, best enjoyed in it s totality. A story-telling journey (very much in the tradition of seminal / genre-defining albums as UR s X-102) were tracks lead you to one another. Tracks can be enjoyed on their own, being all suited for dancefloor and dj-sets alike, but take a complete different meaning when put in the right context within the album.

Musically this long-player combines stripped-down rhythms, sweeping pads and hypnotical bleeping sequences woven together in an intrincate but subtle way, a fashion that harks back to the classic minimalist yet complex mid-90 s sound of Hood, Mills and T.Dixon sounds appealing both the mind and the feet.

Classic and futuristic at the same time, this is a compelling journey that opens with the eerie atmospheres of Our Understanding before really taking off with the cadential NGC1277. The hypnotic Captured Rotation sets the pace for the rest of album which oscillates between the exhilarating cosmic groove of Beyond Language and the contemplative stasis of The Mirror. Other highlights include the entrancing Goldene Spirale or the furiously busy Approaching Light.

The whole package is further rounded up by a set of remixes which showcase the different directions taken by techno producers this days: from Substance s solid Berlin-style to Architectural s spaced-out visions via Rivet s hard-hitting club bangers and Zero Mass abrassive experiments.

Text by: Dj Zero.

Release Info

  • Catalog:
  • 30DLP-001
  • Label:
  • 30drop Records
  • Format:
  • 3x12"
  • Title:
  • The Time Of Cruel Miracles LP
  • Artist:
  • 30drop
  • Style:
  • Techno
  • Country:
  • Spain
  • Released:
  • 7th of April 2017
  • Order:
  • End of Life


pos artists title
A1 30drop Our Understanding
A2 30drop NGC1277
A3 30drop Captured Rotation
B1 30drop Approaching Lights
B2 30drop Gravity Zone
B3 30drop Goldene Spirale
C1 30drop Beyond Language
C2 30drop Standard Model
C3 30drop Future Teller
D1 30drop Superstring Theory
D2 30drop Stadt des Orion
D3 30drop The Mirror
E1 30drop Goldene Spirale ( remix Substance )
E2 30drop NGC1277 ( remix Architectural )
F1 30drop Stadt des Orion ( remix Rivet )
F2 30drop Superstring Theory ( remix Zero Mass )
distribution © 2006-2020 | contact | top