Skip to Navigation
[ Sign in ]
record distribution

Various Artists - Various Artists Part 2 [first 100 on transparent vinyl]

Recording info

[The first 100 copies of this release come in transparent vinyl, the rest in black]

Following 11 hotly tipped EP's, Format now delivers its first compilation release, packed to the brim with bomb cuts from both veterans as new faces. This first Format compilation is a prime example of the label's signature sound. Featuring an impressive variety of musical perspectives, it's a mint snapshot of Format's ever adventurous view on techno.

Format lays down an impressive array of minimal-tinged and powerful dance floor techno laced with depth and atmosphere. There's quite a lot to enjoy here to say the least; a very special appearance is made by legendary NY-producer Mike Parker, whose off-beat 'Necklace Dancer' perfectly reflects Format's penchant for abstract techno. It nestles well among chunky four-to-the-floor material from various trusted label associates: ROD delivers a raw house-flavored banger on 'Acine', while TWR72's 'EXP19' explores techno's darker territories. Label curator, Juan Sanchez, also steps up to the game with 'Warthog', a highoctane piece of fiery techno that captures the man's highly anticipated sound. Topping off, new label signees such as Mark Groot and Optics deliver intense cuts that already make us look forward to more of their studio output.

Format V.A. will be released on two separate vinyl releases, followed by a digital release featuring all nine tracks. The first 200 vinyl releases will be made available in transparent vinyl. The release features artwork by DEFRAME, and is based on the refraction of light. It is meant to represent the illusion of a tiny hypnotic multiverse, where each plane exists in a different time and space.

Release Info

  • Catalog:
  • FR012.2V
  • Label:
  • Format Records
  • Format:
  • 12"
  • Title:
  • Various Artists Part 2 [first 100 on transparent vinyl]
  • Artist:
  • Various Artists
  • Style:
  • Techno
  • Country:
  • Netherlands
  • Released:
  • 16th of February 2018


pos artists title
A1 ROD Acine
A2 Jeroen Search 107
A3 Optics Human Touch
B1 Juan Sanchez Warthog
B2 Flug Do It
distribution © 2006-2020 | contact | top