Skip to Navigation
[ Sign in ]
record distribution

Eastcolors - The Dreamer EP

Recording info

White and red are two hues that first come to mind when thinking of the former USSR, but Russian electronic artist EastColors is living proof that the post Soviet sonic spectrum extends far beyond such simple starkness. Phunkfiction have rewarded this promising young producer with his first EP, and in return he has delivered more than they could have expected.
The two lead tracks are featured on this 12'' Vinyl sampler. Opening strongly with title track 'Dreamer', Eastcolours smoothly fuses a synth lead with chugging beats and a dubby bassline, eliciting exactly the effect the title suggests. 'Go to nowhere' is even dubbier at the deep end, and is balanced out with a light melodic male vocal.

The digital bundle includes a total number of seven tracks - including a remix from fellow upcoming comrade Enei and a collab with one of the UK's rising stars, Clarity. Quality is maintained consistently across the release, as is Eastcolours' unusual fusion of deep, dubby vibes with heavy synth work - something that sets him apart from the pack of DnB producers. Melody is also prominent throughout, and the deft balancing of light and dark elements used adds both depth and beauty uncommon in the genre.

Release Info

  • Catalog:
  • PHUNK020
  • Label:
  • Phunkfiction Recordings
  • Format:
  • 12"
  • Title:
  • The Dreamer EP
  • Artist:
  • Eastcolors
  • Style:
  • Drum n Bass
  • Country:
  • United Kingdom
  • Released:
  • 24th of September 2012


pos title
A1 Dreamer
B1 Go to nowhere
distribution © 2006-2020 | contact | top