Skip to Navigation
[ Sign in ]
record distribution

FD - Better Days

Recording info

Following his versatile Alone With Everybody EP, FD returns to The North Quarter with a stunning 16 track debut album: Better Days.

Largely written in a three month window, FDs (real name Freddie Dixon) new long player on The NQ undoubtedly brings the best of the Zurich-based/London-born producer. Better Days is an album that delivers a rare synergy of drive, harmony between subtle & raw and just sheer fun. A versatile yet coherent project drawn from a large pool of sketches, finalised in intricate detail with focused studio dedication.

Drawing influences from Dub, Jazz, Hip Hop, Soul and the Mid 90's Drum & Bass 'GoldenAge', Better Days bridges the gap between genres, as FD enlists carefully considered vocal collaborations. Manchester donny Fox shines on the dubbed out Better Man and Washington DC soul diva Cecily shows shades of Minnie Riperton on Sycamore. Meanwhile Ribs is lifted to one of the album's stand out tracks with Maverick Soul on the keys and the enigmatic Issac Rosie on the boards.

For some the better days in life are in their childhood memories: nostalgia-infused wonderings of the mind to a care-free time without today's online distractions. Although FD's debut album 'Better Days' is inspired and informed by a period earlier in life, his best days musically are definitely in the present. To put it into the man's own words:

"I've been wanting to do an album for quite a while now, but the circumstance never felt right. Once I started working with The North Quarter that all changed ''it feels like being part of a team all pushing in the same direction, all supporting one another, all wanting to do the best for each other. Once we'd done the first EP together, for me, it was only a question of when."

Release Info

  • Catalog:
  • NQ010
  • Label:
  • The North Quarter
  • Format:
  • 2x12"
  • Title:
  • Better Days
  • Artist:
  • FD
  • Style:
  • Drum n Bass
  • Country:
  • United Kingdom
  • Released:
  • 7th of June 2019


pos artists title
A1   Top2Bottom
A2   Got A Feeling
B1   Not That Bad
B2   99 Flake (Interlude)
B3   Foundations
C1   Deadly Styles
C2 feat. Cecily Sycamore
D1 feat. Fox Better Man
D2   Bottles (Prelude)
D3   Bottles
distribution © 2006-2020 | contact | top