Skip to Navigation
[ Sign in ]
record distribution

Submorphics - Kodak Dreams

Recording info

Cult favourite Submorphics delivers his long awaited debut album "Kodak Dreams" on Amsterdam imprint The North Quarter. 15 year veteran producer Greg Axelrad has been one of America's premiere exports when it comes to Soulful Drum & Bass. His unmistakable 'smoked-out' take on the genre has made him a fan favourite for years. After his The North Quarter debut "Detroit Haze" early 2018, he now returns with his most ambitious project yet: "Kodak Dreams". Written during a time of great personal highs and lows, his debut album is easily his most personal body of work. The Michigan native drew inspiration from his transatlantic journey and childhood memories to paint this musical memoir.

"Inspired by the treasure-trove of nostalgia I brought with me from Detroit, I plugged away at my own brand of D&B, hip-hop and neo-soul music in my new studio in the city of The Hague," Submorphics explains. "Cherished childhood photos reminded me of my roots: funky breakbeats and lush soul samples that I blasted out of my cheap boombox long before I knew what a sampler was. These old photos ended up deeply inspiring the album sessions, and even started permeating my dreams as I slept each night."

A multi-genre piece that features vocals from frequent collaborators Big Brooklyn Red, SelfSays, T.R.A.C. and Christina Tamayo, brings together Soulful Drum & Bass and LA / Detroit flavoured Beats with an easy elegance. The album offers a glimpse into Submorphics' past, present and future and is brought together by snippet-sized, Polaroid-inspired narration, his personal Kodak Dreams.

Release Info

  • Catalog:
  • NQ014
  • Label:
  • The North Quarter
  • Format:
  • 12"
  • Title:
  • Kodak Dreams
  • Artist:
  • Submorphics
  • Style:
  • Drum n Bass
  • Country:
  • United Kingdom
  • Released:
  • 17th of April 2020


pos title
A1 Flash Meters [Intro]
A2 Luminosity
A3 Roseville Funk / Musique Nostalgique [Interlude]
A4 Memories Of You
B1 12 & Woodward
B2 Daydreaming
B3 The Prize
B4 Faded Images
C1 Ithaca Blues
C2 Morning Alarms [Interlude]
C3 Find A Reason
D1 Feel So Blue
D2 Return To The Source
D3 Hot Ish
distribution © 2006-2020 | contact | top