Skip to Navigation
[ Sign in ]
record distribution

Ben Buitendijk - Past And Present EP

Recording info

For the second effort on his very own Oblique imprint, Ben Buitendijk returns to the sound he's only showcased through his well received Promised Land (Mosaic) and a recent remix through Subwax.

This more dubby approach is the general thread in the sophomore Oblique release called ''Past and Present EP''. Generally, this release is threading into deeper territories than it's predecessor but is therefor revealing different sides of the label owner's taste that are maybe being underexposed thus far.

''Roots'' acts as a sublime opening track. Dramatic fx works are bundled together over a well built drum pattern that collides extremely well with the almost lava-esque bubbly sound of the delay laden synths that float throughout. ''Side Stepping'' is somewhat of a change in atmosphere. While maintaining the spacious yet dubby approach of the the opening track, ''Side Stepping'' has a lighter feel to it while the drums are thoroughly programmed underneath and the FX chains seem even more present than before.

On the B side we find ''Apollo'' again a dubby stepper which evolves subtly into a more mean crawler that cleverly blends dramatic chords together with fragments of delayed stabs and panned artefacts. ''Near Mint'' serves as the ''Past And Present EP''s finale. A spacious cut that respects the overall feel of the EP whilst gently threading into a more otherwordly atmosphere which moves in perfect harmony with the buldging bass hit that sits underneath.

Release Info

  • Catalog:
  • OBQ002
  • Label:
  • Oblique Music
  • Format:
  • 12"
  • Title:
  • Past And Present EP
  • Artist:
  • Ben Buitendijk
  • Style:
  • Techno
  • Country:
  • Netherlands
  • Released:
  • 17th of June 2016


pos artists title
A1 Ben Buitendijk Roots
A2 Ben Buitendijk Side Stepping
B1 Ben Buitendijk Apollo
B2 Ben Buitendijk Near Mint
distribution © 2006-2020 | contact | top