Skip to Navigation
[ Sign in ]
record distribution

Markantonio - Alone Against

Recording info

Label-boss Markantonio delivers the 30th release for Analytic Trail with Alone Against, four tracks of the Neapolitan producers refined rolling techno the first from his brand new studio which stands in the shadow of Vesuvius.

Analytic Trail, and Markantonio in particular has been instrumental in creating what is now recognized as the Neapolitan techno sound. The labels dynamic and inventive approach is the key to their success. Marrying raw basic elements with fun-loving party vibes, the name Analytic Trail is synonymous with the Italian big-room techno sound. Launched in 2001 by Markantonio the label currently sits proudly at the head of Italys vibrant techno scene and has recently delivered its first LP in the form of Joseph Capriatis excellent Save My Soul.

Alone Againsts acid relentlessness kicks off the EP with a hearty wallop. A rumbling, pulsing bassline and ever-changing stab are only interrupted with occasional pitched vocal inserts which makes for a brutal vibe, but its the subtle tweaks and layering of the lead sounds which provide a brilliant depth to the cut.

Continuing the ferocious mood is Dark Day, another big room cut which builds and builds and builds. Cleverly designed, sucking effects drag the listener forward while subtle pitch changes in percussion ramp up the tension. The fading outro is a defiant act from Antonio who obviously had no intention of breaking his tune down, and it just adds to appeal of the track.

The leaner, funkier side to Antonio is show in Sade which is characterised by shuffling percussion and bass which are tempered with eerie held synths and incredibly powerful transitional sounds which give a similar intensity to tracks 1 and 2.

Finally, the dark drops and cavernous reverbs of My Tisana close an EP which proudly extols the virtues of uncompromising machine music which is aimed squarely at the dancefloor.

With a remix package to come featuring The Advent, Joseph Capriati & Paco Osuna, Loco & Jam and Flavio Diaz, Alone Against is an EP which will have serious legs.

Release Info

  • Catalog:
  • ANT30
  • Label:
  • Analytic Trail
  • Format:
  • 12"
  • Title:
  • Alone Against
  • Artist:
  • Markantonio
  • Style:
  • Minimal
  • Country:
  • Italy
  • Released:
  • 31st of January 2011


pos title
A1 Alone Against
A2 Sade
B1 Dark Day
B2 My Tisana
distribution © 2006-2020 | contact | top