Skip to Navigation
[ Sign in ]
record distribution

Various Artists - Wrong State 009 / 011 / 012

Recording info

Fresh new Wrong State Recordings release by Maris.
Kazak sees Swaab return to Wrong State, presenting one of his most direct and intense workouts to date, following recent releases on Voltaire Music, Push-Push, Jesus Was Black and Recovery Tech. Grunting bass drives along one of his typically stomping grooves, metallic atonal synths giving the track an icy cool. Subtle dashes of infectious percussion increase the track's energy, with a big atmospheric break allowing some hypnotic FX to take centre stage. It's a heady, dark ride that carries a lot of weight without ever overbearing.

Marcman's rework is the most upbeat of the package, bringing the swinging groove that saw him release on Adult Only, Bass Culture and Love Letters From Oslo and marrying it to seductive female vocal refrains and deft switches in rhythmic percussion. Nervmusic's Denis Kaznacheev supplies a disorienting, woozy remix reminiscent of Villalobos in his deepest moments, mysterious newcomer Chasing Blondes provides a charismatic acid workout that recalls early Winx, while Romania's Horatio (Natural Rhythm, Quanticman Records and Waldliebe Familien) also plumps for a dab of acid but delivers in a far more soft, deep and tripped-out manner on his contemplative ride through slow-burning grooves.
Russia's Denis Kaznacheev continues his explorations into warped minimal techno with his latest release on the burgeoning Wrong State Recordings.

Cheerful Gait To The Wicked Witch is an immersive 14+ minute journey into his scientist-like mind, bubbling away unhurriedly like a slow-cooking lab experiment. From the metallic sounds of the intro, we build through wooden snares and mystifying bass tones, the percussive energy building gradually in layers. Abstract sounds fly in and out of the mix at will, the patient listener rewarded as the track unfolds and plunges in different directions.

Greece's Kreon provides a throbbing, bouncing remix, with subby thumps and muted tinges of haunting piano working at opposite ends of the scale. Snappy percussion licks away at this undulating, murky rhythm, and the overall effect is like tech house stripped down to its very barest bones.

Release Info

  • Catalog:
  • WSPACK002
  • Label:
  • Wrong State Recordings
  • Format:
  • 3x12"
  • Title:
  • Wrong State 009 / 011 / 012
  • Artist:
  • Various Artists
  • Style:
  • House
  • Country:
  • Italy
  • Released:
  • 4th of March 2016


pos artists title
A1 Maris Forceps
B1 Maris Forceps ( remix Lilith (NL) )
B2 Maris Forceps ( remix P. Jones )
C1 Swaab Kazak
C2 Swaab Kazak ( remix Marcman )
D1 Swaab Kazak ( remix Denis Kaznacheev )
E1 Denis Kaznacheev Cheerful Gait To The Wicked Witch
F1 Denis Kaznacheev Cheerful Gait To The Wicked Witch ( remix Kreon )
distribution © 2006-2020 | contact | top